How to Ride the Chicago Subway CTA


          The Chicago Subway or CTA is the third largest subway system in the United States in terms of weekday ridership. The Chicago subway is sometimes called the L or EL. The L Chicago Subway is also in the top three longest subways in the United States. The L has underground subway trains, elevated platforms, and goes into the Chicago Suburbs. The general layout of the L Subway system is not too confusing as some other cities. Most of the subway lines seem to route toward a central location called the loop. Follow the instructions below to familiarize yourself with the Chicago Subway system.

Step 1

You can buy a single fare ride on the “L” for $2.25. They offer many unlimited ride card combinations such as a 1 day pass for $5.75, a 3 day pass for $14, a 7 day pass for $23 dollars, and a monthly pass for $86. You can also get a disability monthly pass for $35 if you qualify with certain disabilities.

Step 2

Learn the basic structure of the Chicago Subway L system. The “L” subway is separated into several colored lines, the Red, Green, Orange, Blue, Brown, Pink, Purple, and Yellow lines. Each of these lines except the yellow line meets at the loop which is a location right in the heart of Chicago. The red line is one of the only lines that operates 24 hours a day and has stops for Wrigley field and the field where the White Sox Play. Other stops along the red line include Howard, Jarvis, Morse, Loyola, Granville, Thorndale, Bryn Mawr, Berwyn, Argyle, Lawrence, Wilson, Sheridan, Addison, Belmont, Fullerton, North Clybourn, Chicago, Grand, Cermac-Chinatown, Sox-35th, 47th, Garfield, 63rd, 69th, 79th, 87th, and the Dan Ryan Stop.

Step 3

The Green line runs from Harlem and Lake to Ashland and Cottage Grove. The Green line on the L runs through the following stops: Oak Park, Ridgeland, Austin, Central, Laramie, Cicero, Pulsaki, Conservatory – Central Park Drive, Kedzie, California, Ashland, Clinton, Roosevelt, Cermak-Chinatown, 35th Bronzaville, Indiana, 43rd, 47th, 51st, Garfield, King Drive, Cottage Grove, Ashland and Halsted.

Step 4

The Blue L line operates 24 hours a day and has 31 stops. Some of the main stops are O-Hare Rosemont, Cumberland, Harlem, Jefferson Park, Irving Park, Addison, Belmont, Logan Square, California, Western, Damen, Division, Chicago, Grand, Clinton, Westin, Cicero, Austin, Pulaski, Harlem and Forest Park.

Step 5

The Pink line is one of the smallest lines. It goes through the loop as well as hits Clinton and Ashland. Other stops on the Chicago Subway Pink line are Polk, 18th, Damen, Western, California, Central Park and Pulaski.

Step 6

The orange line ends at the Midway airport and hits Ashland and Halsted. While the Brown line hits Kimball, Kenzie, Addison, Wellington, Irving Park, and Armitage.

How to Ride the Miami Metrorail   How to Ride the Miami Metrorail                                                                           Ride the San Juan Tren Urbano    Ride the San Juan Tren Urbano